Explore the 2021 Program

BIE_6.jpg

FRIDAY | 10/15
5p PST/ 8p EST

Opening Night is filled with visual experiments, explorations, and rituals that celebrate the intersections of Blackness.

IMG_7973.PNG.png

SATURDAY | 10/16
12p PST / 3p EST

Shorts to Remember

Gripping and contemplative shorts that tackle sex, gender, ancestry, and belonging.

This program will be followed by an Artist Talk with Echaka Agba, Kristina Valada-Viars and Jard Lerebours.


This group of filmmakers from our first two programs discuss the importance of intersectionality and nuance within Black film, the empowerment of creating boundaries as an artist, and more.

11_07.png

SATURDAY | 10/16
5p PST/ 8p EST

Artist Talk with
Lamont Lamar

Director/Writer/Producer of The Night It Rained will explain the process of creating his film from idea to festival run. Once you see the film, you won't want to miss how he put this masterpiece together.

The Night It Rained

After losing his scholarship, Malachi is left to make a life-altering decision that may cost him his education, health, and dignity.

STATELESS_3.jpg

SUNDAY | 10/17
1p PST / 4p EST

Artist Talk with Michèle Stephenson

This event will begin with a screening of the award-winning feature-length documentary, Stateless by Michèle Stephenson followed by an artist talk with Michèle.

Stateless

This award-winning documentary that premiered at Tribeca Film Festival explores the grassroots campaign of electoral hopeful Rosa Iris. This film reveals the depths of racial hatred and institutionalized oppression that divide Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

Opening Night!